Thursday, November 20, 2008

2009 Committee Assignments Announced

Pekin Marigold Festival Chair Camille McCarty made committee assignments at the November 19th committee meeting. The list below includes the event or committee, followed by the chair and co-chair.

Advertising - Rose Hasler
Art in the Park - Doug Godke
Bags Tournament - Doug Snell, Barry Neal
Marigold Booklet - Val Springborn
Soda / Mugs - Amy Whiting, Greg Henderson
Entertainment / New Events - Jan Becker, Val Springborn
Festive Foods / Civic Collage - Todd Campbell, Greg Ranney
Grow for the Gold - Julie Nelson
Honoring Dirksen - Gary Gillis
Info Booth - Val Springborn
Kids Experience - Karen Fort, Shannon Sandoval
Long Range Planning - Gary Gillis, Officers
Medallion Hunt - Gary Gillis
Events / Carnival - Tom Elliott
Parade - Julie Nelson, Greg Ranney
Park Layout & Safety - Eric White, Rich Gafford, Mike Vonderheide
Public Plantings - Greg Henderson
Miss Marigold Pageant - Shannon Sandoval Althea Geiser

2009 Committee Meeting Schedule

The Pekin Marigold Festival committee met on November 19th and under new business Committee Chair Camille McCarty distributed the meeting schedule for the 2009 Festival.

January 21st - 5:30pm working dinner at Holiday Inn Express
February 18th - 6:30pm - Holiday Inn Express
March 18th - 6:30pm - Holiday Inn Express
April 15th - 6:30pm - Holiday Inn Express
May 20th - 6:30pm - Holiday Inn Express
June 17th - 6:30pm - Holiday Inn Express
July 8th - 6:30pm - Holiday Inn Express
July 29th - 6:30pm - Holiday Inn Express
August 19th - 6:30pm - Holiday Inn Express
September 9th - 6:30pm - Mineral Springs Park Pavilion
FESTIVAL WEEKEND - September 11th, 12th and 13th
September 23rd - 6:30pm - Holiday Inn Express
October 21st - 6:30pm - Holiday Inn Express
November 7th - Wrap-Up Party at Pekin Insurance Lodge
November 18th - 6:30pm - Holiday Inn Express

Thursday, November 13, 2008

New Marigold Committee Appointments

Dr. Timm Schwartz, President of the Board of Directors of the Pekin Area Chamber of Commerce announced at the November 12th board meeting his appointments to the Pekin Marigold Festival Committee. Reappointed to 3 year terms were Tom Elliott, Rich Gafford, Doug Godke, and Shannon Sandoval. Amy Whiting was reappointed to a 1-year term. New appointments included Karen Fort and Mike Vonderheide to 3-year terms, and Barry Neal for a 2-year term.

Schwartz also appointed the following committee officers: Camille McCarty, Chair; Val Springborn, Chair-Elect; Eric White, Vice Chair; and, Greg Henderson, Past Chair.